80 politicians, bureaucrats, businessmen on new list

A new list of 80 high-profile corruption suspects was published yesterday including names of BNP leader and Dhaka city Mayor Sadeque Hossain Khoka, five former BNP ministers, Awami League (AL) leaders Tofail Ahmed and Syeda Sajeda Chowdhury, former caretaker government adviser Justice Fazlul Haque, businessmen and bureaucrats.

The Daily Star yesterday got a copy of the list, which also contains the names of AL leader Kazi Zafrullah, BNP leaders and Khulna city Mayor Sheikh Taibur Rahman, former state minister Maj (retd) Kamrul Islam, former deputy minister for food Asadul Habib Dulu, former BNP lawmaker Syed Mehedi Ahmed Rumy and former BNP MP and former Red Crescent Society chairman Shahidul Haque Jamal.

Quoting Anti-Corruption Commission (ACC) Secretary Mokhles ur Rahman, UNB reported that the anti-graft body has not yet received any such list officially, but official sources told him that a new list will be handed over to the ACC by Sunday.

“No such list has reached our hands as of today [Thursday] but we have heard that journalists have got such a list,” The ACC secretary told The Daily Star last night.

“The list will come to us officially if it is authentic, and on receipt we will initiate routine work including serving notices asking the graft suspects to submit their wealth statements,” Mokhles added.

He also said authorities concerned told him about handover of a new list of graft suspects by Sunday.

The taskforces of National Coordination Committee to combat corruption and crime have been saying for the last few days that a fresh list–and the last one–of corruption suspects would be published soon.

With the latest list of 80 persons, the number of alleged high-profile “corrupt” persons stands at 222. Earlier, lists of 142 suspects were published in five phases.

The first list of 50 corruption suspects were made public on February 18. Four lists containing names of 51, 39, 1 and 1 “graft suspects” were made public later.

According to rules, after receiving the ACC notice a graft suspect will get seven working days to submit their wealth statements.

If anyone fails to comply with the ACC directives, they can apply to the commission seeking seven more days.

The commission will go for legal action or filing a case if a graft suspect does not submit wealth statement within the stipulated time.

1. Dhaka City Corporation (DCC) Mayor Sadeque Hossain Khoka, 2. Awami League (AL) presidium member Tofail Ahmed, 3. Former BNP state minister Maj (retd) Kamrul Islam, 4. AL presidium member Syeda Sajeda Chowdhury, 5. Khulna City Corporation Mayor Shaikh Tayebur Rahman, 6. Former BNP MP Shahidul Haq Jamal, 7. Former adviser to the prime minister (Khaleda Zia) Prof Jahanara Begum, 8. Son of former finance minister M Saifur Rahman, Shafiur Rahman Babu, 9. Former BNP state minister AKM Mosharraf Hossain, 10. Former BNP MP Sardar Shakhawat Hossain Bakul, 11. Former BNP MP Elias Ali, 12. Former Jatiya Party MP Nasim Osman, 13. Former AL MP AKM Rahmatullah, 14. Former law secretary Alauddin Sardar, 15. Former adviser of a caretaker government Justice M Fazlul Huq, 16. Former AL state minister KM Jahangir, 17. Executive Engineer of DCC Muzaffar Hossain, 18. Former director general of Agricultural Extension Department Ibrahim Khalil, 19. Former chief engineer of Roads and Highways Department Fazlul Huq, 20. Former APS (2) to ex-prime minister (PM) Khaleda Zia, Deputy Secretary Abdul Matin, 21. Former director of Drug Administration Prof Habibur Rahman, 22. Former Chairman of BRTC Taimur Alam Khandaker, 23. Former APS (1) to ex-PM Khaleda Zia, Deputy Secretary Shamsul Alam, 24. Additional Commissioner of NBR Gulam Mostafa 25. Chairman of Jubok Abu Muhammad Sayeed Chowdhury, 26. Chairman of Nitol Group Abdul Matlub Ahmad, 27. Former managing director of Essential Drug Company Ltd Harun-Al Rashid, 28. Former BNP MP Syed Mehedi Ahmed Rumi, 29. Former communications secretary Rezaul Hayat, 30. Chairman of Rangs Group Abdur Rauf Chowdhury, 31. Divisional Engineer Muhammad Taufiq, 32. Director (Personnel) of Water Development Board Jahirul Karim, 33. former BNP lawmaker Shahidul Islam Master, 34. Deputy Secretary Alauddin Nasim, 35. Joint Secretary and Director General of Disaster Management Bureau Rafiqul-e-Mohammad, 36. Former AL MP Quazi Zafar Ullah, 37. Former BNP MP Fazlul Haque Milon, 38. Former BNP MP Abul Khayer Bhuiyan, 39. Former protocol officer to ex-PM Khaleda Zia, Deputy Secretary Faridul Islam, 40. Latifur Rahman of Transcom Group, 41. Former additional chief engineer Khandaker Azadur Rahman, 42. Former chief engineer of Education Engineering Directorate Abdul Mannan, 43. NBR member Ali Ahmed, 44. Abul Khayer Litu of Bengal Group, 45. Engineer Harun or Rashid Bhuiyan, 46. Former BNP MP Prof Jainal Abedin alias VP Jainal, 47. Former BNP MP Dewan Salauddin, 48. Former general manager (GM) of Bangladesh Bank Golam Mostofa, 49. Proshika Chairman Kazi Faruque, 50. Former BNP MP Abdul Gafur Bhuiyan, 51. Sadeque Abdullah, son of former AL chief whip Abul Hasnat Abdullah, 52. Former additional chief engineer of Roads and Highways Department Gias Uddin Tulu, 53. Former BNP deputy minister Asadul Habib Dulu, 54. Engineer Aftab of Reza Construction, 55. Abdul Momen of Abdul Momen Construction, 56. Bangladesh Gas Field Company Ltd Managing Director Shahidul Abedin, 57. Former AL MP Mirza Abdul Latif, 58. Manjurul Islam Babul of Eastern Housing, 59. Additional Director General (Machinery) Mosleh Uddin, 60. Former Jatiya Party MP Mashiur Rahman Ranga, 61. Md Obaidullah, former Managing Director of Teletalk, 62. Former Jatiya Party MP Shawkat Hossain Hiron, 63. Building Inspector and Rajuk CBA President Amir Khasru, 64. Former DCC commissioner Nabi Ullah Nabi, 65. Md Shahid Ullah alias Shahid Commissioner of Munshiganj, 66. Former Bangladesh Chhatra League (BCL) secretary Eshaq Ali Khan Panna, 67. Mohsin Mia alias Madhu, former chairman Srimangal municipality 68. DCC Ward Commissioner Solim Ullah Sulu, 69. Former BCL president Enamul Huq Shamim, 70. Former BNP lawmaker Md Ali Jinnah, 71. BNP leader Shish Muhammad of Rajshahi, 72. Maulana Samiul Huq Faruki of Gazipur, 73. Director of Bangladesh Islami Bank Mir Kashem Ali, 74. Agriculturist Javel Iqbal, 75. Managing Director of MGH Group Anis Ahmed Gorki, 76. Businessman of Chittagong Md Shawkat Hossain Prakash, 77. Hazi Aminul Huq Shamaim of Bus Owners’ Association in Mymensingh, 78. Alhaj Abdul Awal Talukdar of Talukdar Money Exchange, 79. Kader Mollah of Thermex Group in Narsingdi and 80. Senior Assistant Secretary Nasir Uddin.

Source: The Daily Star

This entry was posted in Daily Star. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s